Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Leiston Football Club app


Felixstowe & Walton United v Leiston (Suffolk Premier Cup Final) - Match Preview

By Craig Cooper

Blues take on Seasiders in the Suffolk Premier Cup Final at Portman Road on Wednesday evening

Leiston take on Felixstowe & Walton United tomorrow evening in the Suffolk Premier Cup Final at Portman Road (kick off is at 7.30).

Joe Jefford and Patrick Brothers will be hoping to make their final appearances for the Blues and win some more silverware. Apart from Josh Hitter who is Cup tied, boss Stuart Boardley should have everyone else available for the match.

The Blues won the final last year as goals from Matt Blake and a brace from Christy Finch helped them to beat Bury Town. This will be Leiston’s 6th Suffolk Premier Cup final.

Felixstowe will have ex Blues players Joe Francis (himself playing his final game for Felixstowe), Darren Mills, Rhys Henry, Jack Ainsley and Kye Ruel in their ranks. The last time the teams met was in February 2011 when Leiston won 2-0 at Victory Road in the Eastern Counties Premier Division.

Felixstowe & Walton FC became a new team in 2000 as Felixstowe FC merged with Walton United FC.

Felixstowe FC were formed in 1890 and were founder members of the Ipswich and District League in 1896. They did merge with Walton United but reverted back to Felixstowe in 1952. They won the Suffolk Senior Cup in 1967, defeating Oulton Broad 3-2. The previous year Leiston lost 2-1 to Oulton Broad in a Replay after they drew 1-1 in the first game. They also won the Suffolk Senior Cup in 1975, defeating Nicholians Locomotive 3-2 in the final.

Walton United were established in 1895 and had some good early seasons but dropped into Division 4 of the SIL in 1979 but returned to the Senior Division in 1994 and won the Suffolk Senior Cup in 1999, beating Needham Market 1-0.

The two sides merged in 2000 to become Felixstowe & Walton United. They were relegated from the Eastern Counties Premier Division in 2001/2002 but returned in 2006. They were runners-up in the last two seasons of the Thurlow Nunn Premier Division, gaining promotion last season to the BOSTIK League Division One North.

Leiston’s route to final: -

2nd Round: -

Haverhill Rovers (H): - Won 6-1.
Matt Blake 3, Matt Rutterford, Rob Eagle, Christy Finch.

Quarter-Final: - Lowestoft Town (H): - Drew 1-1. Leiston won 3-2 on penalties. Byron Lawrence.

Semi-Final: - Ipswich Town (played at Felixstowe & Walton United): -
Won 2-1. Tom Bullard and Harrison Bacon.

Felixstowe & Walton United’s route to the final: -

1st Round: - Long Melford (A): -
Won 8-1.
Sam Ford 3, Jack Ainsley 3, Miles Powel, Joe Francis.

2nd Round: - Woodbridge Town (H): - Won 5-1.
Sam Ford 3, Miles Powell, Jack Ainsley.

Quarter-Final: - Hadleigh United (H): - Won 3-2.
Miles Powell 2, Stuart Ainsley.

Semi-Final: - Stowmarket Town. Won 3-0 (at Hadleigh United FC): -
Liam Hilliyard 2, Joe Francis.

The gates open at 6.45 tomorrow, with admission £12 for adults, £6 (over 65s or in full-time education), £1 for children under 12. Programmes on sale are £1.

Leiston will be allocated the right hand side of the Codbold Stand, thus the stand closest to the North Stand end.

Updated 19:53 - 7 May 2019 by Craig Cooper

Where next?

Clean up session - Part Two The Club will be staging another clean up session this Saturday
Patrick Brothers to join Brantham as Assistant Manager at end of season Blues midfielder Patrick Brothers to depart after Cup final against Felixstowe & Walton United

Wed 8 May
Cup 2 – 3
Sat 27 Apr
1st Team Redditch United
League 3 – 1

News sponsors


Club sponsors